UB Flying Lemurs win women's softball championship

The University of Bohol (UB) Flying Lemurs emerged victorious during the Tagbilaran City Athletic Meet 2019 after defeating Manga National High School (MNHS) and Dr. Cecilio Putong National High School (DCPNHS) Cyclones in the women softball matches at the Holy Name University Oval last September 25-28, 2019.

The Lemurs' first game was against Manga High, where the Lemurs annihilated the Manga High softbelles by the score of 13-0. In their second game, the Lemurs clobbered the DCPNHS Cyclones with a 4-0 victory. Thus, they barged into the finals with an undefeated 2-0 record.

The championship game was a rematch between the UB Flying Lemurs and the DCPNHS Cyclones. It was a hard-fought battle, but the UB softbelles prevailed by the score of 4-2 in the end. Standout Eva Mae Villegas sealed the win with her bunting and diving skills, allowing the team to clinch the gold medal.

"I'm so happy because our sacrifices and efforts have paid off. As the team captain, I'm so proud of our team and grateful to everyone behind this achievement, especially to our coach and our trainer. Giving up was never an option to us because of Ma'am Elaine, Tatay Owen, and of course, our dear Alma Mater. I can say that we won because of self-discipline, teamwork, and putting our trust in God," said Mary Maxine Jandayan, the UB Flying Lemurs Softball team captain.

Below is the list of the UB Flying Lemurs Softball Team players:

  1. Jandayan, Mary Maxine - Team Captain, 1st Baseman
  2. Balili, Micah - Starting Pitcher
  3. Tan, Isah Dorothy - Reserved Pitcher, 2nd Baseman
  4. Saymo, Ella Mae - Catcher
  5. Cainday, Missy - 3rd Baseman
  6. Villegas, Eva Mae - Short Stop
  7. Suarez, Jemly Nicole - Right Fielder
  8. Saluta, Racquel - Center Fielder
  9. Josol, Melody - Right Fielder
  10. Minglana, Venz Steffany - Left Fielder
  11. Luceñara, Cyrille - Left Fielder
  12. Ramonida, Pearle - Center Fielder

  • Official Coach - Ms. Elaine Joyce E. Gabaisen
  • Official Trainer- Ms. Oscar Owen C. Torres

The first six players will participate and represent Tagbilaran City in the upcoming Central Visayas Regional Athletic Association (CVRAA) 2020 Meet.

Free Joomla Lightbox Gallery