UB hosts PACU leadership training, expanded board meeting

TAGBILARAN CITY - Displaying the famed hospitality of Boholanos, the University of Bohol (UB) successfully hosted the leadership training and expanded board meeting of the Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities last January 17-18, 2019, at the University of Bohol Victoriano D. Tirol Advanced Learning Center (UB VDT ALC) Mini Theater of this city.

Ms. Ria Eva M. Sevilla, UB VP for Administration, disclosed that college and university presidents from all over the country joined the two-day PACU activity.

During the said event, the association conducted an Emerging Leadership Training among the member-school presidents and selected participants. They were welcomed by UB President and current member of the PACU Board of Trustees, Dr. Victoriano B. Tirol, III. Dr. Caroline Marian S. Enriquez, President of Our Lady of Fatima University and the current PACU President, delivered the opening remarks.

The PACU Expanded Board Members

LEFT TO RIGHT: Mr. Rowell Olaivar (Bohol Northern Star College), Atty. Christopher Tan (University of Iloilo – PHINMA), Mr. Marco Benitez (Philippine Women’s University), Mr. Paolo Torres (University of Mindanao), Dr. Guillermo Torres (University of Mindanao), Ms. Laurice Juarez (Capitol University), Ms. Joyce Anne Samaniego (PACU), Dr. Teresa Perez (Centro Escolar University), Dr. Erna Yabut (Centro Escolar University), Mr. Anthony Jose Tamayo (University of Perpetual Help), Dr. Victoriano Tirol III (UB), Engr. Bernard Nicolas Villamor (Cebu Institute of Technology – University), Atty. Anna Maria Abad (PACU Legal Counsel), Dr. Michael Alba (Far Eastern University), Dr. Elizabeth Pader (Technological Institute of the Philippines), Dr. Zorba Bautista (University of Baguio), Atty. Manuel Elijah Sarausad (University of Cebu), Dr. Loida Sta. Maria (Imus Institute of Science and Technology), Ms. Humildad Claro (University of Asia and the Pacific), Atty. Annaliza Pulmones (PACU Assistant Legal Counsel), Dr. Leonarda Loayon (Bohol Northern Star College), Dr. Caroline Marian Enriquez (Our Lady of Fatima University), Mr. Fabian Quitales (PACU), Dr. Ester Garcia (University of the East), Dr. Karen De Leon (Misamis University), Dr. Vicente Fabella (Jose Rizal University)

Among the topnotch resource speakers who discussed essential topics were: Jonathan Richie Yap, Senior Program Officer of Viventis Search Asia Inc. on the Future of Work; Ana Marie S. Bongato, a Trustee of the People Management Association of the Philippines on Innovations in Industry-Academe Relations; Dr. Junifen F. Gauuan, President of Philippine Christian University on Budgeting and Resource Generation; Ma. Teresita P. Medado, President of Asia Pacific College on Developing Human Capital; Atty. Manuel R. del Rosario, HR Consultant of Baliuag University on Performance Management; and Christine S. Javier, Head of Franklin Covey Philippines Education on Succession Planning.

Ms. Laurice Faye R. Juarez, Chair of the PACU Programs Committee formally closed the training on noontime of the second day. Sofila L. Gantalao, Principal of UB Senior High School, acted as the official moderator during the entire proceedings.

LEFT TO RIGHT: Ms. Laurice Juarez (Capitol University), Mr. Anthony Jose Tamayo (University of Perpetual Help), Mr. Fabian Quitales (PACU), Dr. Caroline Marian Enriquez (PACU President and President of Our Lady of Fatima University), Dr. Victoriano Tirol III (UB), Engr. Bernard Nicolas Villamor (Cebu Institute of Technology – University), Atty. Anna Maria Abad (PACU Legal Counsel)

In the afternoon of January 18, the PACU Board led by its President, Dr. Enriquez held its expanded board meeting at the UB VDTALC Function Room. Aside from the regular members of the Board of Trustees, the presidents of the other member colleges and universities were also present during the meeting to tackle important concerns.

The PACU officers for 2018-2020 are Dr. Caroline Marian S. Enriquez, President; Mr. Anthony Jose M. Tamayo, First Vice President; Dr. Jose Francisco B. Benitez, Second Vice President; Engr. Bernard Nicolas E. Villamor, Secretary; and Ms. Laurice Faye R. Juarez, Treasurer.

The members of PACU Board of Trustees for Greater Manila Area are Rev. Fr. Marcelo V. Manintim, President, Adamson University; Dr. Ma. Cristina D. Padolina, President, Centro Escolar University; Dr. Michael M. Alba, President, Far Eastern University; Dr. Vicente K. Fabella, Jose Rizal University; Dr. Reynaldo B. Vea, President, Mapua Institute of Technology;

Dr. Caroline S. Enriquez, President, Our Lady of Fatima University; Dr. Jose Francisco B. Benitez, President, Philippine Women's College; Dr. Elizabeth Quirino-Lahoz, President, Technological Institute of the Philippines; and Dr. Ester A. Garcia, President, University of the East.

For Luzon - Dr. Patricia Bustos-Lagunda, President, Baliuag University; Dr. Peter P. Laurel, President, Lyceum of the Philippines University-Batangas; Ms. Nalia E. Leveriza, President, Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation, Inc.; Rev. Fr. Gilbert B. Sales, President, Saint Louis University; Dr. Zorba Bnn R. Bautista; Vice Chairman, University of Baguio; and Mr. Anthony Jose M. Tamayo, President, University of Perpetual Help Dalata-Molino.

For the Visayas - Engr. Bernard Nicolas E. Villamor, President, Cebu Institute of Technology – University; Dr. Victoriano B. Tirol, III, President, University of Bohol; Atty. Augusto W. Go, President, University of Cebu; and Dr. Chito B. Salazar, President, University of Iloilo.

For Mindanao – Ms. Laurice Faye R. Juarez, President, Capitol University; Dr. Karen Belina F. De Leon, President, Misamis University; Dr. Evelyn Abellera-Magno, President, Rizal Memorial Colleges; and Dr. Guillermo P. Torres, Jr., President, University of Mindanao.