UB Hosts BSAA 8th Season

University of Bohol President Victoriano B. Tirol III, led the school administration in welcoming the participants to the opening of the Bohol Schools Athletic Association (BSAA) Meet eight season on August 11, 2018 at the UB gymnasium.

Dr. Tirol who is the incumbent president of the BSAA formally declared the games open in a simple yet fitting ceremony attended by 17 participating schools of the province of Bohol. UB’s Fortunato Libres and Ellen Rose Perez lit the sportsmanship cauldron and led the oath of sportsmanship respectively. The athletic competition in basketball and volleyball will last for four months to be played in different venues.

The participating teams for this year’s eight edition are, University of Bohol (UB) with Victoriano D. Tirol-Advanced Learning Center (VDT-ALC), BIT International College (BIT), Bohol Wisdom School (BWS), Colegio dela Medalla Milagrosa (CMM), Christ the King Seminary (CTKS), Dr. Cecilio Putong National High School (DCPNHS), Holy Name University (HNU), Holy Spirit School of Tagbilaran (HSST), Immaculate Heart of Mary Seminary (IHMS), Mater Dei College (MDC), PMI Colleges (PMI), St. Vincent Institute-Maribojoc Central Elementary School (SVI-MCES), Tagbilaran City Science High School (TCHS), Trinidad Municipal College (TMC) Cogon National High School (CNHS), and Mansasa National High School (MNHS).

Highlighting the opening ceremonies were Dr. Victoriano D. Tirol (UB), Vice Governor Dionisio Balite (BIT-IC), Fr. Francisco Estepa (HNU), Fr. Florante Camacho (MDC), Atty. Roberto Cajes (TMC) , Floriezyl Podot (PMI) Former UB President Atty. Nuevas Montes, Dr. Maricel Adiong (UB VP for Finance), and BSAA Commissioner Achilles Amores.

In a press conference held prior to the opening, Dr. Victoriano B. Tirol stressed that BSAA is an avenue for friendly competitions and in promoting the quality of student athletes of Bohol in basketball and volleyball. Fr. Estepa also emphasized that the league is a way to help the youth go away from vices.

BSAA Commissioner Amores pointed out that the tournament admitted three midget teams for basketball and expanded its volleyball to include high school. A total of 10 teams are participating in volleyball while nine junior teams and seven senior teams are participating in basketball.

Free Joomla Lightbox Gallery