UB Prexy Sits as PACU Board Trustee

Fresh from his assumption as the fifth University of Bohol President, Dr. Victoriano B. Tirol III was elected as member of the Board of Trustees of the Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities (PACU) in an election held last June 30, 2018 at the Joy-Nostalg Hotel & Suites Manila in Pasig City.

Touted as the youngest university president in the country, Dr. Tirol is joined by fellow university presidents Bernard Villamor (Cebu Institute of Technology – University), Atty. Agosto Go (University of Cebu) and Dr. Chito Salazar (University of Iloilo) to represent the Visayas bloc.

Other university presidents who were elected members of the PACU Board of Trustees include; In Greater Manila Area – Fr. Marcelo Manimtim (Adamson University), Dr. Cristina Padolina (Centro Escolar University), Dr. Michael Alba (Far Eastern University), Dr. Vicente Fabella (Jose Rizal University), Dr. Reynaldo Vea ( Mapua University), Dr. Caroline Enriquez (Our Lady of Fatima University – Quezon City), Dr. Francisco Benitez (Philippine Women's University), Dr. Elizabeth Lahoz (Technological Institute of the Philippines), Dr. Ester Garcia (University of the East).

Luzon – Dr. Patricia Lagunda (Baliuag University), Dr. Peter Laurel ( Lyceum of the Philippines University-Batangas), Ms. Naila Levenza ( Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation), Fr. Gilbert Sales (Saint Louis University), Dr. Dhanna Rodas (University of Baguio), Anthony Tamayo (University of Perpetual Help System DALTA-Molino).

Visayas – Bernard Villamor (Cebu Institute of Technology – University), Dr. Victoriano B. Tirol III (University of Bohol), Atty. Agosto Go (University of Cebu), Dr. Chito Salazar (University of Iloilo).

Mindanao – Atty. Casimiro Juarez (Capitol University), Dr. Karen Belina (Misamis University), Dr. Evelyn Magno (Rizal Memorial Colleges) and Dr. Guillermo Torres (University of Mindanao).

It may be recalled that the same position was previously held by the University of Bohol thru past presidents Atty. Victoriano B. Tirol, Jr., and Atty. Nuevas T. Montes.

The group was formally organized in 1932 as the Association of Filipino Private Universities and Colleges (AFPUC). Its primordial purpose is to set higher standards for private educational institutions and to promote the interests of private education in the country. In 1947, AFCU changed its name to Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities (PACU). Since then, the association has remained steadfast in its mission to provide quality education among its member schools.