UB VDT-ALC tanker breaks Milo swim record, leads medal tally

Rian Marco Adiong Tirol, a 15 year old grade 10 pupil of the University of Bohol Victoriano D. Tirol-Advanced Learning Center again broke a swimming record in 100m breastroke during the 21st Milo Little Olympic Visayas Finals held last September 9-10,2016 at Cebu City Sports Center which was participated in by schools from Bohol, Cebu, Negros Island, Bacolod, Iloilo and Aklan.

Sometime in 2014 in Batang Pinoy National Championship in Tacloban, Tirol who swam in the 12 and under boys category, also broke two Philippine swim records in 50m and 100m breastroke.

This year’s Milo Olympics is another harvest time for the young swimmer when he clinched four gold medals in 100m breastroke, 200m breastroke, 200m individual medley, 100m butterfly and one silver medal in 4x50m freestyle relay. In secondary boys, Tirol got the most number of gold medals in individual events.

Other medalists include Charllyn Allysa Y. Romanos - 100m breastroke (bronze), 200m breastroke (bronze); Zoe Austral -100m butterfly (bronze), 4x100m freestyle relay (bronze), 4x50m medley relay (bronze); Victoriano Martin Tirol - 4x50m medley relay (bronze); Angelo Noel Gallego – 4x50 medley relay (bronze); Michael Jeffrey Real – 4x50m medley relay (bronze); Ocean Iñaki Voisin – 4x50m medley relay (bronze); Jess Kenneth Omac – 4x50m medley relay (Silver); Joshua Lacea – 4x50m medley relay (Silver); Caedmon Rodriguez – 4x50m medley relay (Silver); Mia Maureen Morales – 4x100m freestyle relay (bronze), 4x50m medley relay (bronze); Jovy Claire Jaspe – 4x100m freestyle relay (bronze) , 4x50m medley relay (bronze); Ashley Hutchinson -4x100m freestyle relay (bronze), 4x50m medley relay (bronze).

Members of the UB Rockets Swimming Team who also joined the delegation during the Milo olympics are Francine Bibat, Jaryl Mahinay,Andrei Thurman, Jummel Niño Jaspe, Zachary Lex Castro, Timothy Titus Castro, Isabela Delos Santos, Alerxandrei Noel Gallego and Vince Andrew Indig.

The UB swimming team is under the stewardship of Dr. Victoriano B. Tirol, III, team manager, Vincent J. Indig, head coach and Wilfred Luza, assistant coach.